Board of Directors


Members of the Japan America Society of St. Louis meet on a monthly basis at the University of Missouri – St. Louis campus.

The Board reviews current activities and plans future events. Members of our Board are called upon throughout the year to represent the Japan America Society of St. Louis at various community functions.

Officers and Board of Directors


Honorary Chairman: Governor Jay Nixon

Honorary President: Ambassador Kenichiro Sasae

Honorary Vice President: Consul General Toshiyuki Iwado

President: Dr. Chikako Usui

Chairman: Mike Kimzey

Chairman Emeritus:

Steve Masaki
Yoshiaki Shibusawa
John D. Coad, Jr.

Vice Chairman: Bruce S. Buckland

Vice President: Jana Nester

Women’s Association President: Luise Hoffman

Executive Director: Dr. Joel Glassman

Assistant Director/Secretary: Liz Shabani

Board of Directors

James F. Alexander St. Louis Regional Chamber
Linda Austin Moonbridge Publications
Bruce S. Buckland Retired Honorary Consul General of Japan
Jack Coad Parsons Brinckerhoff
Dr. Richard A. Colignon Saint Louis University
Dr. Joel Glassman University of Missouri-St. Louis
Greg Gorman Nidec Corporation
Dr. Yutaka Ikeda The Boeing Co.
Luise Hoffman President, JASWA
Mike Kimzey St. Louis County Office
Yuko Kitajima
Stephen Knapp Honorary Consul of Japan
Peter H. Love Goffstein, Raskas, Pomerantz, Kraus & Sherman, LLC
Dave Lowry Japanese Activities Committee
Steve Masaki Mass Mutual Financial Group
Chip Meyer Caliber Communications
Dr. Laura Miller University of Missouri-St. Louis
Jana Nester Maritz Travel
Hitomi Salini St. Louis Japanese Language School
Elizabeth Shabani University of Missouri-St. Louis
Yoshiaki Shibusawa St. Louis Japan Society
Tracy Snider Novus International, Inc.
Dr. Chikako Usui University of Missouri-St. Louis
 Marc Vanacht  AG Business Consultants